Will laptop manufacturers eliminate half-size arrow keys and Fast Ethernet LAN ports? Looking at you DELL and HP! Move on to Gigabit and full-size arrow keys!

Currently, there are two good laptops in the market – one by Dell and the other by HP. Both of them run on AMD processors, which is the only kind I buy. (I don’t buy Intel because they have a long history of anti-competitive behaviour and ripping off customers.)

Unfortunately, both laptops have half-size arrow keys. In fact, all laptops in the market have half-size arrow keys. That stupid fool Steve Jobs… that moron… that idiot… that bastard… that man has ruined everything. He introduced half-size arrow keys and now every laptop is using half-size arrow keys.. even on big-screen laptops. It is as if everyone’s been hypnotized.

HEY! LISTEN TO ME! Don’t you guys have any self esteem? Do you have anything in your head? Have you swapped out your brains for some potato masala? Why are you so stupid?

NO. YOU ARE NOT STUPID. YOU HAVE BRAINS. WAKE UP. SNAP OUT OF IT.
ANIMATION-Rotating-Spiral

That Steve Jobs spell needs to go.

Scott Hanselman writes about the great diversity of mobile phone design before iPhone and the utter lack of innovation afterwards.

Scott Hanselman writes about the great diversity of mobile phone design before iPhone and the utter lack of innovation afterwards.

I have tiny fingers and I find it difficult to use these keys. I wonder how fat Americans with their fat fingers are getting along with these tiny arrow keys. People complain about the tiniest aspects of mobile phones but nobody apparently has been complaining about these arrow keys. If you want to do any kind of serious work on laptops, you need full-size arrow keys.

I used to have a 14-inch laptop. I liked it very much. It had full size arrow keys. When the graphics chip (nvidia) failed, I was heartbroken. I looked for another AMD-based 14-inch laptop but could not find one. All the AMD laptops had 15.6-inch screen and that meant that battery life would be very low. After a year or so, AMD had moved to 32nm silicon process and I bought a 15.6-inch Samsung laptop. I was a bit disappointed with not having a 15.6-inch screen but it is a good laptop. With Android programming, I realized that a I would have found it difficult with a 14-inch laptop. Samsung also makes it very easy to upgrade parts. Samsung even provided a regular Windows installation DVD. (Most laptops now come with a uncompressed Windows partition or a recovery DVD.) My initial happiness after buying the Samsung laptop disappeared after I noted that the arrow keys were half-size, just like the shitty netbooks I had. I couldn’t believe I shot myself in the foot for the third time.

The other issue is Fast Ethernet LAN ports. These ports transfer files between HDDs at the around of 7 MBs/second. Gigabit will do 40-60 MBs/second. HP still uses Fast Ethernet LAN ports. They even had a 14-inch ProBook that had everything I wanted. Their laptops all have Fast Ethernet LAN ports. I don’t know why this thing from the last century. How can these guys talk about Internet of Things when they continue move such gear with such old parts?

Laptops still come with Fast Ethernet LAN ports and half-size arrow keys.

Laptops still come with Fast Ethernet LAN ports and half-size arrow keys.

Comments on this blog are moderated by government agents. The Moral Volcano Essential Reading List will explain why.

